Disabled Concealed Carry

RampDog

Fanatic
I wasn't sure where to post this until I saw the "concealed carry question" thread. But, I digress...
I'm a disabled veteran of the Iraq War confined to a wheelchair for any mobility outside my home.
This presents special problems for concealed carry. Does anyone here have any experience in
this situation? I don't mean to sound paranoid when I say that while in my chair I feel like a
target. I know that I am, the scum of society thinking I'm easy pickings due to my disability.
I'd love to disavow them of that notion, but carrying in a chair is rather difficult. I'd love to
see any suggestions the members here may have, especially if any of you are in the same
boat as I am. I'm a rather large person at 6'2" and 255lbs. Some of the things I've already
or tried are:
Strong side carry. This allows for the greatest level of concealment, but forces me to bend
forward and to the weak side to grip the pistol.

Weak side, crossdraw. This is near perfect for easy access to my weapon, but makes the
gun hard to conceal.

Shoulder holster. This is a good compromise between concealment and ease of access. The
problem is the shoulder rig and weapon rub my ribcage and undeside of my arm pretty raw.

Kazhrei

Well-Known Fanatic
RampDog said:
I wasn't sure where to post this until I saw the "concealed carry question" thread. But, I digress...
I'm a disabled veteran of the Iraq War confined to a wheelchair for any mobility outside my home.
This presents special problems for concealed carry. Does anyone here have any experience in
this situation? I don't mean to sound paranoid when I say that while in my chair I feel like a
target. I know that I am, the scum of society thinking I'm easy pickings due to my disability.
I'd love to disavow them of that notion, but carrying in a chair is rather difficult. I'd love to
see any suggestions the members here may have, especially if any of you are in the same